A new progress!

So the table has had mixed reviews.  Loki watched me all day yesterday with wide eyed and fearful anticipation – I think he figured out he wasn’t going to like eating dinner all together – all the same thing.   He didn’t eat much dinner last night, but we persevered.  Today, however, we managed to finish dinner in less than 30 minutes – and he ate boiled mixed veggies with cheese on top of them.  We also found out that he did very well in school so far.  A progress report arrived at his mom’s house with one C, one B, and all the rest…..A’s!!!

I like this proactive approach to things.  I’ve seen changes at work – my newest associate was actually scheduled to TRAIN his entire first week (n’est pas possible)!  We ate dinner as a family together at our new table, then played cards for some time.  I got a huge hug and kiss from my step-son before he went to bed, (which after the food I’ve literally forced him to eat, surprised me, to say the least).

I’m learning a lot about setting and reinforcing expectations.  As one learns in a good persuasive essay writing lesson: tell ’em what you’re gonna tell ’em, tell ’em, then tell ’em whatcha told ’em.   A good friend of mine at work has begun actually telling her partner what she wants him to do, rather than sitting there stewing that he hasn’t done the things that she shouldn’t even have to mention.  We’ve both realized, as partners, moms and managers that it’s a complete waste of energy to get pissed off about the things you shouldn’t HAVE to tell people to do – when it takes a lot less time and energy to just tell them, and then the job gets done!   It’s not being bossy, it’s efficient, and let’s face it – many people just don’t have the work ethic to just DO what they see needs to be done – if they see it at all.  It’s like assuming that everyone in a class knows how to read at the same level.

This friend, Monica, is someone that I really admire, and I think we will both grow with Home Depot, if we choose to stay.   We always trade experiences and try to encourage each other to be better leaders.  I told her that I am always so stimulated after visiting my family in Houston.  My parents are blessed with an incredibly diverse, talented, successful and generous group of friends and colleagues.  I still can’t get over the amount of talent, intellect and drive that was present at my bridal shower.  What a group of women!  And many of these people will take the time to speak with me about their experiences in leadership, business, and life…I come home literally humming with energy and inspiration.  I told her after this last trip, I realized that these people aren’t sitting around waiting for a leader to guide them – they became the leaders.  I told her, “we need to become the people we aspire to be.” I hope we can both grow together…if it’s possible to latch on to someone and travel up a ladder with them, rather than by coattails – I want to look back one day and say, “wow, do you remember sitting in the break room one day and having that conversation?”  It’d be grand.

“Keep away from people who belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.”

— Mark Twain

“You’ve got to get up every morning with determination if you’re going to go to bed with satisfaction.”

— George Horace Lorimer
Leave a Reply

