And, back to the food

Cause that’s what life is really about, huh?  Dad, I hope you’re not reading this, cause I’m not sure that french anything fits into Weight Watchers.  I had a very trying day… I have a customer, (who I’m actually quite fond of), who is the equivalent of Diane Keaton’s character from Baby Boom on steroids.  She has just lost it on me several times in the past few days, and after the screaming fit ended this morning, every customer I worked with seemed to have a chip on their shoulder.  BUT!  BUT!  I didn’t get upset, I didn’t get mad – I just made as many jokes as I could about the situation and tried to take care of everyone as best possible.  However, when the day was done – I knew that the universe owed me a good night in the kitchen and a dinner with my husband.

So I got off of work, bought some french bread, brie, a splendid wine called Nelm’s Road, and proceeded to make a recipe I’ve been eyeing for some time…Summer Vegetable crepes with a lemon sour cream sauce.  I actually had to stop in the middle of cooking and said, “thank You God for brie cheese.”  I really did.  I know it’s silly, but it tasted so good, and I was FINALLY in my kitchen cooking again, and I just felt grateful.

http://www.kitchendaily.com/recipe/summer-vegetable-cr-pes-141168

I had to vary it just a bit – I thought I had green beans and didn’t, so I added chopped onions, tomatoes and peas.  The coolest part?  I couldn’t find pre made crepes anywhere in town. I’ve been looking for three days…

That’s not the cool part, we’re still getting there…

MY HUSBAND MADE CREPES FROM SCRATCH!

He’s awesome – he’s the baker, I’m the chef.  He was very suspicious of this whole recipe, but was happy to help.  We sat down and he was still giving me this, “not so sure this is gonna taste very good, you know neither of us are real ricotta fans, and this is all just veggies, and I’m fairly certain I’m going to eat this and then head straight for the snack pantry” look.  Then we both took a bite, and I started smiling, and he was trying NOT to smile, but it was creeping across his face.  YAY!  He loved them!  He even had seconds, and that’s always proof that the dish is good.

Huzzah for la nuit Francais at the Siegenthaler household!  Universe, we’re even again.

In honor of French inspiration, here’s some Voltaire for you:

The true triumph of reason is that it enables us to get along with those who do not possess it.

God gave us the gift of life; it is up to us to give ourselves the gift of living well.

Leave a Reply

