What you think about comes about

One of the best and most important things that I have learned over the past several years, is that what you think about comes about.  A negative mind attracts negative things.  A positive mind attracts positive.  And as crazy as it may seem, I think I’ve been of two minds about different things in my life.

I learned to set goals and dream big and be positive about my budding business, about my career and about money.  I read things that make my mind stronger and more positive.  (For the grandfather of all self improvement books, check out “As a Man Thinketh” by James Allen read here!)

So many things in life have improved.  I had a lot of fun the other day looking at an old dream board that I made, and realizing that most of what I had put down to paper has happened!  But then every morning when I get dressed and every time I get a magazine in the mail that I would love to shop from, I have negative thoughts about my body and my weight.  I’ve always fought my weight – ALWAYS.  I yo yo dieted through college, I fought an eating disorder for many many years, and though I got as thin as I could get for my wedding 5 years ago, I’ve bounced back up once again, only to fluctuate up and down 10 lbs with every diet I’ve tried since then.  I’m about 25 lbs over where I would be most comfortable and happy.  And I’ve tried all the different mindsets, I’ve tried calling it a lifestyle, not a diet, low carb, no carb, carb cycling, high protein, balanced, small meals, less meals, shakes, you name it.  The weight does not want to go away.

Some great friends who are masters of mindset have been telling me it’s got to be my subconscious.  A tip I picked up the other day is not to call it “losing weight” any longer, because when you lose it, you try to find it again.  As I walked into my office the other day I looked at my current dream board (one of the best things you can do is have your goals up all over your house/car/bathroom/life so they are ALWAYS in your subconscious even when you aren’t actively thinking about them), and it hit me….I’ve tried all the things, but I’ve not changed my mindset about who I am.  Old me says I am a heavy person that has to work hard to lose weight.  It’s not easy.  Well, what I think about comes about, so it’s time to break that mold.

So – yesterday, I made a dream board – fit women doing fun things in bright and beautiful clothing – my weight goal of 195, plus my rules that I eat balanced healthy meals, meditate every morning (one thing I was never successful at before) and that I will change my mindset about who I am, and what my body looks like.

IMG_0343

This is not easy to share with all of you.   I don’t like posting that my goal for the world to see, but another thing I’ve learned is that once you put it down on paper, you’re more incentivized to attain it!

What are some things that have eluded you for years?  Why don’t you make a dream board!  Just get a big poster board, some magazines and a glue stick and go dream crazy or check out Oprah’s Dream Board tool to make one online.

When it is obvious that the goals cannot be reached, don’t adjust the goals, adjust the action steps. – Confucius

You control your future, your destiny. What you think about comes about. By recording your dreams and goals on paper, you set in motion the process of becoming the person you most want to be. Put your future in good hands – your own. – Mark Victor Hansen

Do me a favor – comment below with your thoughts, and then if you’d like you can opt in to follow my blog via email subscription here.

Leave a Reply

