Join the Gratitude Bandwagon

thankful

It’s obviously a good day to mention it, and Facebook is filled with gratitude posts and my inbox is filled with gratitude articles. While I want to be different and never want to follow like a sheep, I couldn’t think of a better thing to write about today.  Perhaps it’s permeating the ethos today.

However, today is not the first day I’ve thought about gratitude.  I’ve been focusing on it for over a year now, and it’s done me a world of good.  If you haven’t jumped on the gratitude bandwagon yet, you should think about adding a daily gratitude practice to your day.  It’s the white magic of the world.

I’m a naturally pessimistic and I’ll admit it – negative person.  Sarcasm in droves, and my mindset has always run to the worst case scenario in life.  I think I might write this in every blog – what you think about comes about.  I found myself in not happy places in life, and I found myself angry and upset at where life had landed.  Even when things were starting to turn around, my attitude was that God had blessed me beyond my worth and that I should expect it all to come crashing down around my ears any day.  I took some good advice from friends and sought out the help of a mentor, and I learned some great tricks to refocus my mind and calm that worrying ego.  I’ll share them a little later in this post.

There’s great reasons to be grateful.  Studies show that grateful people suffer from 10% fewer stress related illnesses, have on average 7% higher income (but if you look at any of the millionaire coaches, you’ll see that gratitude tops their lists), they have more energy, fewer headaches (so true! I used to have 3-4 a week, and never have them now), get better sleep, have higher emotional intelligence and less depression.

There are some really neat info-graphics from Templeton.org and mindvalley academy you should read for more…

And what’s better than better health and life?  I’ll tell you – getting more of that better health and better life.  See, gratitude works exponentially.  Oprah says

Be thankful for what you have, you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have you will never, ever have enough.

Gratitude is what helps your soul blossom open to receive all gifts.  It’s not always easy, and it’s certainly not second nature in the beginning of changing your perspective.  On days when I catch myself going down an ungrateful and negative road, I have to stop and backtrack.  Say a prayer: pause, reflect, reset.  And if you don’t have it completely in your heart, fake it till you make it.  There’s nothing like a negativity train to bring down an entire group of humans.

I’m not perfect yet, and I’ll never be perfect, but I can take today to put my foot down and be more steadfast in my practice.

He is a wise man who does not grieve for the things which he has not, but rejoices for those which he has. ~Epictetus

Here’s my two practices:

1. When I wake up, I have to think of 5 things for which I am grateful before I get out of bed.

2. Before starting a task like making phone calls to clients or teammates (something that can cause nervousness and be uncomfortable at time – anyone who has done cold calls knows this), I make a gratitude call first.  I call someone to tell them how much I appreciate them, or thank them for their business.  It elevates your mood and your energy.  Gratitude is second only to love when you look at the vibrational energy of emotions.  When I show gratitude first, everything else is more enjoyable and successful.

I hope that you had a relaxing and refreshing day with your family and loved ones.  Many blessings to you now and always, and thank you so much for visiting my blog.  Post a comment or share if you enjoyed!

ffb94c07a99e3f0fe3c674d3998d634a d35d72408445ff6fbdcd7abaa4212f8a

Leave a Reply

