I did it to myself this time

This is going to be a quick one, because tomorrow I’m expanding on health and mindset and how they fit in together.  Obviously I have some learning, or relearning to do because I set my own trap this time.

About 2 weeks ago I read some information about how meditating helps us to heal and maintain good health, and I totally believe this.  However, I have been slack about keeping up with a daily practice of meditation.  Oh how the mind wanders…Last week I found a recording I particularly liked and set the intention of doing it every day for a week straight.  I felt amazing, I felt centered.  I talked to a friend one day that was sick, yet again and I remembered that used to be sick all the time every winter, and I have not been for almost 2 years.  I get the occasional bug still, but they used to take me out and down for weeks.  Now whenever I feel sick I take a day to rest and typically recover right away.  I had this little thought in the back of my mind – thank God I take better care of myself, that I changed my lifestyle, that I am becoming aware – I don’t even get sick any longer because of my good habits.

Hubris.  And vanity.  And mindlessness.  Because the next three days I was so busy in life I failed to meditate. And then I did what you should never do…I thought about the what ifs.  What you think about comes about, and I thought, goodness, I’ll start getting sick again if I don’t get back into it.  BAM, next morning.  Sore throat, body aches.  I’ve been napping all day on and off and missed Holiday Barrel tasting and a friend’s birthday party I was really looking forward to.

I’m not saying I got sick because I didn’t meditate, but I am saying that I need to think about this more and research a little more.  Because I kinda feel like I did the mental equivalent of walking under a ladder or breaking a mirror with that silly thought train I went on.

whatyouthinkaboutcomesabout

2 thoughts on “I did it to myself this time

  1. I learned a valuable lesson. If you can’t control your body, how can you control your mind? I meditate and stay absolutely still for 15-20 minutes a day. If I move then I start over. Our mind is our greatest friend, but it can also be our greatest enemy! Go Bethany GO!

Leave a Reply

